Taking Down the Decorations

Every year while I’m putting up my decorations I think, “before I know it, these will all be coming down.” I try not to think about it too much because although Winter is not my favorite season, I enjoy the lights and deocorations that come with the Christmas season. I often think that lights should be a Winter season decoration to help with the gloominess I feel during the cold months. This weekend I will be packing away my Christmas decorations and making the switch to my “all season” decor. Before all the decorations come down, I wanted to share with you some of my favorite items.

img_0520fullsizerender-7fullsizerender-2img_4511fullsizerender-3

I absolutely love my white tree. Not only is it different because it is white, it has the option of white or colored lights. I often alternate throughout the season because I can’t decide which one I like better. The colored lights are usually on when I want a more tranquil setting and the white lights make the room feel cozy. On my tree I have some glass ball ornaments. These are my favorite because they help capture the lights in the tree. Unfortunately, this year I couldn’t put too many up because we have a new puppy. He is curious about everything!

fullsizerender-4

The lantern you see is one of my “all season” items that changes as the seasons change. It was used during my wedding to hold cards from my guests. I usually have string lights inside but I accidentally bought yellow lights and I didn’t like how they looked with my white lights on the tree. With all the shopping for gifts I never quite got around to buying a new set!

My favorite piece in my home is the Santa Claus placed next to the lantern. He was in my Grandmother’s house while I was growing up and after she passed I asked my father if I could have it. I have fond memories of always searching inside his sack for candy canes my Grandmother put inside.

What are some of your favorite holiday items in your home?

xoxo

Leave a Reply

